# Statement by H.E. President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf on the Reshuffle of Her Cabinet Monday, March 11, 2013

#### My Fellow Liberians:

A few months ago, we announced that we would undertake the reorganization of the Executive with special emphasis on the Cabinet. Our consideration was informed by the duty we owe to you, our people, and to the execution of the mandate we were popularly given to promote the overall development of our country. It has taken me a while, but, finally, the process to reorganize the Cabinet is now under way.

I have reflected deeply, and I have reflected long. You will note from the list to be presented that many of our young people have been appointed or reappointed. This is because while I and others can expect them to occasionally err in the exercise of their duties, the truth remains that the future of whatever we do today will belong to this youthful generation.

It is time that our young people begin to work with us – to take on more and more responsibility for the future of our country – and to deepen their understanding of exactly where we are headed, the challenge associated with getting us there, and the discipline and dedication that will be required.

Another important consideration by which I have undertaken this assignment is to continue to achieve a balance in the Administration along lines of gender, ethnicity, religion and age. This consideration continues to guide our actions in this and other conduct of the affairs of the State.

Yet we have to place premium on the criteria of competence, integrity, commitment and loyalty. By loyalty, I mean that which is not only owed to an individual or to a political party but loyalty to the aspiration of our national vision and to the improvement in the lives of our people. Quite simply, I expect the loyalty and commitment of each member of the Executive to primarily extend to the implementation of our ambitious transformative agenda, and to improving the lives of our people.

## My Fellow Citizens:

I have transferred some individuals from one area of responsibility to another, and a few have not been reappointed. This action is intended to provide an opportunity to bring new dynamisms to new responsibilities. In cases where some individuals have not been reappointed, it is mostly because they are better suited to pursue their professions in other areas of endeavor. I thank all of

these individuals for their various services to our country, and to those who are not returning to the Administration, best wishes in their future undertakings.

I charge all of those appointed or reappointed to observe these criteria seriously, and always attend to their duties diligently, so that our reorganized team remains in place for the duration of this Administration. However, let there be no mistake: I will not hesitate to make a change if anyone does not rise to the commitment of this Administration and to the challenge of their respective portfolios.

With that, I am pleased to nominate the following persons today, and will make additional nominations and appointments over the next few days.

May God continue to bless our country.

#### **Ministry of Labor:**

Sie-A-Yeaneh Youh - Minister

### **Ministry of Youth & Sports**

Mr. Eugene Nagbe - Minister

#### **Ministry of Transport**

Mr. Tornolah Varpilah - Minister

#### **Ministry of Commerce & Industry**

Mr. Axel Addy - Minister

Ms. Candace Eastman - Deputy Minister, Commerce & Industry

Mr. Cyril Allen, II - Deputy Minister, Administration

#### **Civil Service Agency:**

Mr. George Werner - Director General

# **Ministry of Justice**

Ms. Betty Lamin Blamo - Deputy Minister/Solicitor General

## **Ministry of Foreign Affairs**

Ms. Una Thompson - Deputy Minister for Administration

Mr. Elias Shoniyin - Deputy Minister for International Cooperation

Dr. C. William Allen - Ambassador

# **Ministry of State for Presidential Affairs**

Ms. Vabah Gayflor - Director-General of the Cabinet

## **Ministry of Education:**

Mr. Edwin Kennedy Tetteh - Deputy Minister, Administration

Dr. Khalifa Bility - Deputy Minister, Planning, Research & Development

Ms. Hawah Goll-Kotchi - Deputy Minister, Instruction

## Ministry of Lands, Mines & Energy:

Mr. Stephen B. Dorbor, Sr. - Deputy Minister, Planning and Human Resource Dev.

Ms. Mariam Kaba - Assistant Minister, Energy

## **Ministry of Internal Affairs**

Mr. Amos Tweh - Deputy Minister, Urban Affairs

### **National Social Security & Welfare Corporation**

Mr. Dewitt von Ballmoos - Director General

Mr. Nya Twayen - Deputy Director General

# **Liberia Institute for Public Administration**

Mr. Oblayon B. Nyemah - Director General

# **National Bureau of Veteran Affairs**

Rtd. BG Rudolf F. Kolaco, Sr. - Director General

Rtd. Col. Railey Karkor - Deputy Director General, Administration

# **Monrovia Consolidated School System**

Mr. Benjamin A. Jacobs - Superintendent